Redhead make up mistakes to avoid!

30 Apr

ginger with multicolored make-up and red long hair

1. Tiny eyes

Many girls who don’t wear much make up make the mistake of just wearing eyeliner – thick, black eyeliner with mascara and either a nude or no eyeshadow. Circling your entire eye with liner it makes your eyes look tiny. And a bit scary!

Eye make up tips for redheads

  • Only wear heavy eyeliner if you’re wearing a dramatic eye look, like smokey eyes.
  • Blend, blend, blend to make the line less harsh.
  • If you’re wearing softer make up use a softer eyeliner.
  • If you’re only wearing eyeliner, just draw a sexy flick along the top lash line with a liquid liner, don’t put any on your lower waterline.

2. Missing eyebrows

I always find it weird when I see a natural ginger with beautiful make up, but wait, something’s not right… where are her eyebrows?! It can seem too stark when you first darken blonde eyebrows, but eyebrows frame your face, and nobody else will know it’s not your natural colour.

Eyebrow tips for redheads

  • Use a brown eyeshadow rather than pencil for a softer, more natural look.
  • If you do use a pencil use a light brown like MAC eyebrow crayon in Fling
  • Alternatively have them dyed brown. It’s much easier when you’re on holiday.

3. Too light foundation

I know all too well how hard it can be to find the right shade of foundation for pale porcelain skin. The chances are that you’ve had some nightmare ‘orange’ moments when you first started wearing make up, but now I see many redheads who’ve gone too light and look a bit like Caspar the friendly ghost! (see pic below) It’s much better to go a little darker than lighter than your skin, especially as you can wear blusher and powder to tone down the colour.

Here’s me looking wayyyy too pale a couple of years ago!

ginger with too pale foundation

Foundation tips for redheads

  • Try the foundation on your jaw line then leave the shop and look at it in natural daylight to see how well the colour matches your skin tone.
  • Go a bit darker rather than too light.
  • Often make up counters struggle to find me a good match, particularly under artificial lights so ask for a sample and try it out at home for a few days before you buy.
  • I’ll write some posts recommending foundations for redheads and gingers soon!

4. Playing it too safe

You don’t have to stick to brown eyeshadow all the time.Β  I believe everyone can wear (almost) any colour, as long as you find the right shade. With fiery hair and pale skin you can look amazing with bright eyes, and nobody looks better than a redhead with red lips.

What’s your worst make up disaster? I’d love to hear your comments!

2 Responses to “Redhead make up mistakes to avoid!”

  1. LittleRed152 01/05/2012 at 8:15 am #

    I can honestly say I agree with EVERYTHING here!

    Iv had founation too light, had frightful orange days, got more brown eye shadows than I care to admit and a natural look that’s taken me 10years to “perfect”

    Looking back I would have liked some guidance to avoid certain disasters especially when I remember how I thought bronzer would suffice for a sunkissed glow #epicfail ha

    I’ve found practise makes perfect and don’t be afraid of a dramatic look (but keep it clean and not messy) … Red lips are my favourite and liner is a MUST!

    TEAM GINGER

    Xxx

  2. Anex 06/07/2012 at 9:13 am #

    I think the worst thing I see is dyed red heads (because they didn’t grow up being told over and over) using bright red lips stick and dark heavy eye make up. You have red hair, it stands out. Now you’ve made your lips AND your eyes stand out.. I think it just looks like a painted whore (pardon the language). I have always been told you play up one or the other but never both!

    Personally, I’m not a fan of bright red lip stick with red hair (you make your hair look orange-y), but with the right eye make up I think it can look good.

Tell us what you think - leave a comment!

