1940s make up and hair for redheads

17 Apr

Sorry this has taken a little while but I’ve been a very busy bee this week.

Last week I teamed up with a local photographer for a hair and make up shoot. I had pretty free range over the styling and theme so though 1940s would be a good look. The bright lips look stunning with red hair and I love the strong eyes.

Redhead 1940s

Get the look: 1940s make up
This look is all about the eyeliner and lipstick.
– Apply a neutral shadow over your eyelids
– Apply a gel eyeliner along the upper lid, followed by a thick liquid liner. I used Avon gel liner followed by MUA liquid liner.
– Apply fake lashes. I used Eyelure ‘star’ fake lashes as they give a nice long lash without being too heavy.
– For the lips pencil around your lips using a bright red pencil. I used Collection 2000.
– Use a lip brush to layer a bright red lipstick on your lips.
– Don’t be afraid to add a few layers. Finish with a slick of red gloss.
– Because the eyes and lips are heavy, keep the cheeks very light.

1940s eye make up

redhead make up

Get the look: 1940s hair
Victory rolls: These are easier than they look!
– Take a section of hair that you want to roll up and back comb it on the inside of the roll.
– Roll the hair around your fingers into a big curl and pin along the inside of the curl.
– Spray like crazy with hair spray!
– Repeat on the other side of your hair.
– Curl and pin your fringe
– Loosely curl the remainder of your hair using GHDs or a curling wand.

Let me know what you think! x

2 Responses to “1940s make up and hair for redheads”

  1. Lucie-Bella 22/04/2012 at 10:29 am #

    I love this! I’m not a natural redhead, but have been for the past few years, and I’m so pale too! I’ve wanted to try victory rolls for so long and have just managed to do them, inspired by your tutorial. Your hair is beautiful, I absolutely adore the colour. Will be checking your blog regularly from now on!

    Lucie-Bella

    • IntoTheRed 24/04/2012 at 7:32 pm #

      Aww thank you so much Lucie-Bella! Well done for moving over to the red side :) Thinking I may dye mine a brighter shade of orange soon. xx

Tell us what you think - leave a comment!

