Holiday make up for redheads

2 Apr

Going on holiday always scares me a little as I know I’ll be the palest person on the beach, dripping in greasy sun cream and nodding politely at jokes about my ‘tan’.

The key to redhead holiday make up is to prep as much as you can before you go with spray tans and dyeing, then keep it as simple as possible during the day so you can concentrate on re-applying sunscreen regularly.

redhead with bubbles

Before you go

  • Spray tan – I often have a spray tan before I go to give me a little colour. If you’re pale skinned you may be wary of turning mahogany but they layer so you can choose a shade to suit you. My favourite is fake bake as a spray tan or you can use Fake Bake self tan for fair skinfake bake.
  • Dye brows and lashes – It’ll save you time and you’ll have less make up to sweat off.

Holiday day make up for redheads

  • Use sunscreen as your base – Because I’ll be topping up sunscreen regularly, I avoid using any foundation or powder during the day.  I use a Clinique City block SPF 40 as it’s light, not too greasy and I can carry it around in my bag for top ups.
  • Statement eyes – I use a black gel or liquid liner along my upper lashes with a sexy flick to frame my eyes without the need for eyeshadows which will crease and sweat off. Apply thick lashings of mascara  – I like Lancome Hypnose – and you’re good to go.

Holiday evening make up for redheads

  • By night I like to go for colour to fit in with all the tanned beauties.
  • Bronzer – I always look glowing on holiday nights out thanks to bronzer. Apply around the cheeks and temples for a warm glow.
  • Blusher – Add a bit of shape to your face by contouring under your cheekbones with a brown blusher. I love Dainty Doll blusher in 003 Money Talks.
  • Bright lips – juicy glosses in coral or a punchy pink.
Tell us what you think - leave a comment!

